To contents
To navigation

Schriftzug Angewandte Genetik Collage von Motiven der Angewandten Genetik

Dahlem Research School

Member of Dahlem Centre of Plant Sciences (DCPS)

CRC973
Home Page » Research groups » Johansson

Research group Johansson

Research interests

Light as an external signal has been shown to control many aspects of plant growth and development throughout the plant lifecycle including germination, de-etiolation, shade avoidance, chloroplast movements, phototropism, entrainment of the circadian clock and time of flowering. The seedling de-etiolation is one of the most dramatic response to any single external stimuli in nature and as such, it is not surprising that this response affects a large proportion of the plant transcriptome. This is largely mediated by the red and blue light receptors (phytochromes and cryptochromes). However, these photoreceptors do not regulate transcription directly but via a complex network of positive and negative factors of photomorphogenesis.

Over two decades ago, COP1 was identified as a major negative regulator of light signalling through its photomorphogenic phenotype in darkness. In the dark, COP1 acts as an E3 ubiquitin ligase targeting several positive factors of photomorphogenesis for degradation, most notably the bZIP transcription factor HY5. Upon light irradiation, COP1 activity is inhibited by the photoreceptors in addition to being excluded from the nucleus resulting in the accumulation of HY5 and consequently de-etiolation.

Fluence response of light signaling mutants
Photograph of seedlings grown for 7 days in darkness or increasing amounts of red light. Increasing light levels results in opening and expansion of the cotyledons, inhibition of hypocotyl elongation and chlorophyll accumulation. The hy5 mutant is hyposensitive to light while the cop1 mutant is photomorphogenic in darkness.

In the Johansson group we are interested in the molecular events taking place between the perception of light by the photoreceptors and the following transcriptional response during de-etiolation. We are working with a group of B-Box zinc finger proteins that physically interact with COP1 and/or HY5. As predicted by these interactions, these B-Box proteins do indeed modulate the light signalling pathway as manifested in the mutants by altered inhibition of hypocotyl elongation and accumulation of anthocyanin. Currently, we are examining the similarities and differences between these B-Box proteins and are working towards the mechanism by which they alter HY5 action.

People

Publications

Johansson H, Zeidler M. (2016) Automatic chloroplast movement analysis. Methods Mol. Biol. 1398, 29-35.

Johansson H, Hughes J. (2014) Nuclear phytochrome B regulates leaf flattening through phytochrome interacting factors. Mol. Plant 7, 1693-1696.

Johansson H*, Jones JH*, Foreman J, Hemsted H, Stewart K, Grima R, Halliday KJ. (2014) Arabidopsis cell expansion is controlled by a photothermal switch. Nat. Commun. 5, 4848.

Toledo-Ortiz G, Johansson H, Lee KP, Bou-Torrent J, Stewart K, Steel G, Rodríguez-Concepción M, Halliday KJ. (2014) The HY5-PIF regulatory module coordinates light and temperature control of photosynthetic gene transcription. PLoS Genet. 10, e1004416.

Gangappa SN, Crocco CD, Johansson H, Datta S, Hettiarachchi C, Holm M, Botto JF. (2013) The Arabidopsis B-BOX protein BBX25 interacts with HY5, negatively regulating BBX22 expression to suppress seedling photomorphogenesis. Plant Cell 25, 1243-1257.

Foreman J*, Johansson H*, Hornitschek P, Josse E-M, Fankhauser C, Halliday KJ. (2011) Light receptor action is critical for maintaining plant biomass at warm ambient temperatures. Plant J. 65, 441-452.

Datta S*, Johansson H*, Hettiarachchi C, Irigoyen ML, Desai M, Rubio V, Holm M. (2008) LZF1/SALT TOLERANCE HOMOLOG3, an Arabidopsis B-box protein involved in light-dependent development and gene expression, undergoes COP1-mediated ubiquitination. Plant Cell 20, 2324-2338.

Datta S, Johansson H, Hettiarachchi C, Holm M. (2008) STH2 has 2 B there: An insight into the role of B-box containing proteins in Arabidopsis. Plant Signal Behav. 3, 547-548.

Datta S, Hettiarachchi C, Johansson H, Holm M. (2007) SALT TOLERANCE HOMOLOG2, a B-box protein in Arabidopsis that activates transcription and positively regulates light-mediated development. Plant Cell 19, 3242-3255.

News

New publication

An article about the analysis of a cytokinin-responsive gene of Arabidopsis thaliana encoding a novel F-box protein regulating sterol biosynthesis has been published in Journal of Experimental Botany.
May 2017

New publication

A report about constitutively active mutants of the cytokinin receptors AHK2 und AHK3 and their impact on organ size, flowering time, and plant longevity has been published in Plant Physiology.
March 2017

New publication

An article about the role of the transcription factor ERF105 in freezing tolerance and cold acclimation has been published in Plant Cell and Environment.
January 2017

Krolow Award 2016

The Krolow Award 2016 was given to Dr. Anne Cortleven for her work about the role of Cytokinin in the plant response to high light stress.
November 2016
© 2008 FU Berlin — Angewandte Genetik | Feedback |
Updated: 2017-04-23

Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Schriftzug Angewandte Genetik Collage von Motiven der Angewandten Genetik

Dahlem Research School

Member of Dahlem Centre of Plant Sciences (DCPS)

SFB973
Startseite » Forschungsgruppen » AG Johansson

AG Johansson

Forschungsgebiete

Licht kontrolliert als externes Signal viele Aspekte des Wachstums und der Entwicklung im Verlauf des pflanzlichen Lebenszyklus, einschließlich Keimung, De-Etiolierung, Schattenflucht, Bewegung von Chloroplasten, Phototropismus, Einschwingen der cirkadianen Uhr, und Blühzeitpunkt. Die De-Etiolierung von Keimlingen ist eine der stärksten Antworten auf einen einzelnen Stimulus in der Natur, und daher ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass diese Antwort einen großen Anteil des pflanzlichen Transkriptoms betrifft. Dies wird hauptsächlich durch die Rot- und Blaulichtrezeptoren vermittelt (Phytochrome und Cryptochrome). Diese Photorezeptoren regulieren die Transkription jedoch nicht direkt, sondern über ein komplexes Netzwerk von positiven und negativen Regulatoren der Photomorphogenese.

Vor mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten wurde COP1 aufgrund seines photomorphogenetischen Phänotyps in der Dunkelheit als wichtiger negativer Regulator der Lichtsignaltransduktion identifiziert. Im Dunkeln wirkt COP1 als E3-Ubiquitinligase, die mehrere positive Faktoren der Photomorphogenese, insbesondere den bZIP-Transkriptionsfaktor HY5, zum Abbau markiert. Bei Belichtung wird die Aktivität von COP1 durch die Photorezeptoren gehemmt und das Protein aus dem Zellkern ausgeschlossen, was in der Anreicherung von HY5 und in der Folge zur De-Etiolierung führt.

Antwort von Lichtsignalmutanten auf zunehmende Lichtintensität
Fotos von Keimlingen, die 7 Tage lang im Dunkeln oder in zunehmender Dosis von Rotlicht angezogen wurden. Zunehmende Lichtintensitäten führen beim Wildtyp zur Öffnung und Entfaltung der Keimblätter, Hemmung des Längenwachstums des Hypokotyls und Chlorophyllanreicherung. Die hy5-Mutante ist unempfindlich gegenüber Licht, während die cop1-Mutante bereits in der Dunkelheit photomorphogenetisch ist.

In der AG Johansson interessieren wir uns für die molekularen Ereignisse, die zwischen der Perzeption von Licht durch die Photorezeptoren und der darauf folgenden Transkriptionsantwort während der De-Etiolierung stattfinden. Wir arbeiten mit einer Gruppe von B-Box-Zinkfingerproteinen, die physisch mit COP1 und / oder HY5 interagieren. Wie durch diese Interaktionen nahegelegt, modulieren diese B-Box-Proteine tatsächlich den Lichtsignalweg, was sich in Mutanten durch geänderte Hemmung des Längenwachstums des Hypokotyls und die Anreicherung von Anthocyan zeigt. Im Moment untersuchen wir die Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschiede zwischen diesen B-Box-Proteinen und versuchen den Mechanismus herauszufinden, mittels dem sie die Aktivität von HY5 modulieren.

Mitarbeiter

Publikationen

Johansson H, Zeidler M. (2016) Automatic chloroplast movement analysis. Methods Mol. Biol. 1398, 29-35.

Johansson H, Hughes J. (2014) Nuclear phytochrome B regulates leaf flattening through phytochrome interacting factors. Mol. Plant 7, 1693-1696.

Johansson H*, Jones JH*, Foreman J, Hemsted H, Stewart K, Grima R, Halliday KJ. (2014) Arabidopsis cell expansion is controlled by a photothermal switch. Nat. Commun. 5, 4848.

Toledo-Ortiz G, Johansson H, Lee KP, Bou-Torrent J, Stewart K, Steel G, Rodríguez-Concepción M, Halliday KJ. (2014) The HY5-PIF regulatory module coordinates light and temperature control of photosynthetic gene transcription. PLoS Genet. 10, e1004416.

Gangappa SN, Crocco CD, Johansson H, Datta S, Hettiarachchi C, Holm M, Botto JF. (2013) The Arabidopsis B-BOX protein BBX25 interacts with HY5, negatively regulating BBX22 expression to suppress seedling photomorphogenesis. Plant Cell 25, 1243-1257.

Foreman J*, Johansson H*, Hornitschek P, Josse E-M, Fankhauser C, Halliday KJ. (2011) Light receptor action is critical for maintaining plant biomass at warm ambient temperatures. Plant J. 65, 441-452.

Datta S*, Johansson H*, Hettiarachchi C, Irigoyen ML, Desai M, Rubio V, Holm M. (2008) LZF1/SALT TOLERANCE HOMOLOG3, an Arabidopsis B-box protein involved in light-dependent development and gene expression, undergoes COP1-mediated ubiquitination. Plant Cell 20, 2324-2338.

Datta S, Johansson H, Hettiarachchi C, Holm M. (2008) STH2 has 2 B there: An insight into the role of B-box containing proteins in Arabidopsis. Plant Signal Behav. 3, 547-548.

Datta S, Hettiarachchi C, Johansson H, Holm M. (2007) SALT TOLERANCE HOMOLOG2, a B-box protein in Arabidopsis that activates transcription and positively regulates light-mediated development. Plant Cell 19, 3242-3255.

Aktuelles

Neue Veröffentlichung

Ein Übersichtsartikel zu einer neuen Art von Stress bei Pflanzen durch Änderung der Lichtperiode ist in Trends in Plant Science erschienen.
September 2017

Neue Veröffentlichung

Ein Artikel über ein cytokininreguliertes Gen, das für ein neuartiges F-Box-Protein codiert und eine Rolle bei der Regulation der pflanzlichen Sterolbiosynthese spielt, ist in Journal of Experimental Botany erschienen.
Mai 2017

Neue Veröffentlichung

Ein Bericht über konstitutiv aktive Mutanten der Cytokininrezeptoren AHK2 und AHK3 und deren Wirkung auf die Organgröße, den Blühzeitpunkt und die Lebensdauer von Pflanzen ist in Plant Physiology erschienen.
März 2017

Neue Veröffentlichung

Ein Artikel über die Rolle des Transkriptionsfaktors ERF105 bei der Frosttoleranz und der Kälteakklimatisierung ist in Plant Cell and Environment erschienen.
Januar 2017
© 2008 FU Berlin — Angewandte Genetik | Feedback |
Stand: 41.10.2017